Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need a reprap-able funnel design made

Posted by Marcus 
Need a reprap-able funnel design made
July 24, 2012 11:59PM
Hello,

My partner and I want to build a modified version of a hydroponic windowfarm. For our system we would like to build shelves and have planters sit on the shelves. Yet, not directly on the shelves themselves, but on a funnel that will drain water down to the planter below and ultimately back to the water tank. For this purpose, we need a customized funnel made and see this as an excellent opportunity to create useful reprap object available to many people.

I have no experience with 3d modelling, and frankly don't envision being able to find the time to learn adequately. I am writing to ask if someone would create this design for us, and share it on thingiverse. In return, we would like to submit our modified windowfarm plans which would reference this reprap funnel design. For ourselves, we can have the design printed here in Seattle at a local hacker space.

Our planter containers are 6 inches wide. The shelf would have a hole cut in to let the funnel sit into almost flush with the base of the shelf, except for a lip that would prevent the funnel from falling through the hole. Also the lip would have to support the planter container. Therefore, I roughly guess the funnel opening at its top could be 5 1/2 inches wide. The drain hole on the opposite end of the funnel could be something like 1/4 inch.

Please respond if you are interested in creating this design.

Thanks,
Marcus
Re: Need a reprap-able funnel design made
July 25, 2012 06:30PM
I'm willing to give it a shot. I have zero experience with 3D printing, just discovered it all only a couple days ago but I've beeen using Blender for a few months. I hope to gather up the parts for a printer or at least a little laser engraver in the coming months and get something put together.