Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What Softwares are you Using?

Posted by MarketingMike 
What Softwares are you Using?
March 19, 2014 11:30PM
I may be one of the lucky ones fortunate enough to have access to some of the most powerful softwares: Geomagic Studio, SpaceClaim, Spark, XOR, Design X ETC. What do you use? Is it a money limitation or are there softwares you prefer as opposed to the programs I mentioned?

-Mike
Re: What Softwares are you Using?
March 20, 2014 06:02AM
Solidworks.

Im a Mechanical engineer. So its pretty much the standard. (Together with Solid Edge, Inventor and CATIA)
March 20, 2014 02:56PM
SolidWorks here as well, via work.
March 21, 2014 02:13AM
FreeCAD, and the #1 reason... It runs on Linux! (and I will not ever give even one rusty penny to micro$oft)

The other few solid molders that run on Linux have a UI that just flat out sucks rocks. For designing parts to be printed and all around work at home, I haven't found anything I cant do with FreeCAD. And you really can't beat the price.winking smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/21/2014 02:14AM by markstephen.
March 21, 2014 09:46PM
Same as markstephen, I use FreeCAD because I run Ubuntu at home.

One the one hand I support this open source project (I contribute to it in a few ways), and on the other hand it is my way of expressing my disgust at the unethical practices by the commercial software industry. winking smiley

Just a couple examples: forced annual maintenance or you won't get bug fixes, no backward compatibility... and now the cloud they'll soon force down our throat which will make the software more expensive.

At work we may have no choice but to use these software solutions, but at home I do.

Anyway, FreeCAD is obviously very far from a real alternative to the big boys, but for personal use it's plenty powerful enough. The development team is small (handful of guys working on it in their spare time) but they manage to improve the software every year.