Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Which high-end CAD tool to use?

Posted by quadshop 
Which high-end CAD tool to use?
October 14, 2009 10:34PM
I'm planning on making a RepRap. I'll probably end up modding it and/or building a derivative, and I'm looking at CAD tools that will help with that.

I'm a CAD newbie, and it looks like any CAD program I choose is going to require significant learning curve. If I decide to try something else, there will be switching costs (I have to learn something new). So I'm looking for advice on which package to start with so I don't have to learn 4 different CAD programs until I find the "right" one.

I am affiliated with a university. Because of that, I have free (and legal) access to all of AutoDesk's product line. Also, through my school, I can purchase a low cost ($55/year) subscription to Solidworks. It is likely I can get access/purchase other high-end tools as well (though I don't even know what other tools in that league exist to ask about).

So my question is, for the purposes of learning CAD that I can use for design of something like a RepRap derivative, is Solidworks or Inventor the way to go? Is there another commercial tool that would work even better? Are any of the free/low-cost tools even close in terms of what those two packages can do?

My experience is literally limited to doing a couple of the basic Inventor tutorials, so it is hard to figure this out on my own.
VDX
Re: Which high-end CAD tool to use?
October 15, 2009 03:24AM
... look at Caligaris Truespace - it's now for free (until Microsoft smash it completely down): [www.caligari.com]

I'm constructing 3D-parts with high complexity for micromechanics with Lightwave - and for solving some specific problems, sometimes with 3DSMax.

Most 2D, 2,5D and 'simpler' 3D construction is made with IsyCAM suited best for my Isel-CNC-mill.