Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What Softwares are you Using?

Posted by MarketingMike 
Re: What Softwares are you Using?
December 28, 2015 03:46PM
The problem I always had with FreeCAD was when I tried to edit a sketch that was created early on in the design - I often ended up with broken models. I liked the user interface, but I hated having to 'rewind' a design so that I could change just one part of the layout. In the end I decided that I was wasting too much time, and moved on.

I did try Blender, but the initial learning curve is too steep; it's a brilliant program, but life is too short.

Nowadays I use OpenSCAD almost exclusively, as I can amend any stage of the design with little risk of breaking the model. I can also parameterize a design very easily by the use of variables. I will concede that I used to be a programmer, I've also written web pages in raw HTML, and I've even used the documentation language LaTeX, so the structure of the OpenSCAD language was very easy to assimilate! The only aspect of OpenSCAD I dislike is the documentation, which I find to be complete but difficult to use.
December 28, 2015 08:47PM
OnShape.com has assemblies, including moving parts.
January 04, 2016 12:30PM
Any thoughts on 123D Design / Sketchup Make?

Background:

I am new to CAD & 3D printing. I am working on a startup business.

I just spent 1 week learning SketchUp but found it alternately very powerful and deeply irritating. I am now looking for an alternative. Something that "thinks" in terms of solids not surfaces might help. Someone in my local makerspace/hackspace has recommended 123D Design. It looks easy to learn with much more sensible defaults that Sketchup, however I am worried that it will run out of power given that Autodesk presumably really want us all to use something more grown up (e.g. Fusion360 - v expensive if you pay!)