Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Custom Ski Boots

Posted by le_chiffre 
Custom Ski Boots
July 09, 2008 10:17PM
Hi, I'm Le Chiffre and I'm from Argentina. I'm an Electronic Engineering student at my last year in the University of Buenos Aires. I've been following RepRap for a year and a half, but I still don't have the time or space (and I suspect, the skills) to start building my own RepRap. But I think that in the next few months I will finish all my final tests, and I will get some free time, and start experimenting with this project that, I belive, has the potential to become a disruptive technology.
Anyway, during this year and a half, I had accumuleted a lot of question, so let's start with the most trivial one:

I like skiing, but the equipment is so expensive, specially in the third world. And the prospect of having custom made equipment design especially for me, it's very exciting. After the success of the plastic sandals, do you think that the RepRap could build custom-made ski boots? I know that the overhang could be a problem, but maybe there are some workarounds. I don't know which kind of plastics uses this boots, but it probably needs to be water-proof, and not very weak.
So, what do you think? It's possibly right now (or in the next months o year )to print a ski boot with Darwin? Or it will take some more time to be able to print things like that? What about the quality of the final product?
Best whishes

le chiffre
Re: Custom Ski Boots
July 10, 2008 05:53AM
THere may be a strength issue. Idont know what plastic they are made from, but it would need a good low temperature performance. I have heard of a (older) boot line that would shatter. Of course, this is the last thing you want at speed (where loads are high) or in the back country where exposure kills.