Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

triangulation-free winch for Z actuation

Posted by realthor 
triangulation-free winch for Z actuation
May 11, 2015 03:12AM
Hi guys, I am pretty new to reprap forums so bear with me. I've been posting for a while (and still do) on Nic Seward's ConceptForge about a Wally without the radial or linear Z and without a threaded rod or leadscrew. I know little is left but in many parts of the world these parts are difficult to find and there are other reasons as well. Over several posts I've come to an idea of a winch that would spool Spectra Line while lifting or descending the SCARA arm on the Z axis. You can read the why's and how's over in Ideas for the Next Wally thread.

The problem with winches is that they have triangulation errors that don't count for a normal winching job, but for this particular situation any triangulation would mean a cvasi-impredictible Z resolution as the spooled line drifts away from the vertical, creating an angle. This could potentially be calibrated in software with some trig functions but as long as I don't know how to modify the software, I tried to think of a mechanical solution.

As long as we are 3D printing stuff, a solution I came up with is a spur gear bar with a threaded profile embedded (or a threaded bolt with spur gear teeth cut along its axis), so that the whole thing can be rotated by a wormgear while also advancing through some nuts. All this complication is for the spectra line to remain fixed on the bolt's axis and on the verical (to the anchoring point), while the line is spooled on the threads as it would on a drum.

To better exemplify i will attach a printscreen I have also posted on ConceptForge, but here I hope more people could pitch-in if interested, over there I mostly pester Nicholas, and I know he has a busy life.