Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printable Prosthesis

Posted by zaking17 
Printable Prosthesis
April 11, 2010 09:41PM
I am a biomedical engineering student at the University of Michigan and I want to incorporate 3D printing into my senior design project.

I would like to design a printable prosthesis that could be designed and printed rapidly in developing countries where custom prostheses are rare and expensive. I am in the process of researching which prosthesis would be best suited to RepRap printing. I am also looking for professors here at UofM to help with the medical aspects of the design.

Is anyone interested in helping out? I've never built a RepRap and--as much as I want to--I would rather focus on prosthesis design than building the printer.

(*The first step in this project will be to determine the mechanical properties of printed objects. has this already been done?)
Re: Printable Prosthesis
April 11, 2010 10:20PM
I got your email about that and was composing a reply. smiling smiley

Here is the Michigan RepRap User Group:
[groups.google.com]

Here is the open prosthetics group.
[openprosthetics.org]
I'd suggest getting in touch with them. At the same time, I'd suggest keeping your comms/development in this thread and in the wiki.

Are you thinking about a lower limb or upper limb prosthetic?

Also, what materials are you planning on using? (I assume you have access to a CNC mill for steel, and so on.)

Are you thinking of purely thermoplastic, or printing a lightweight core which one then wraps with carbon fiber, or something else?

Here is a RepRap wiki 'stub page' I did up:
[reprap.org]
Please log in and edit it until it corresponds with your vision for the project. Inasmuch as you're the working group convener. grinning smiley
(You are welcome to create your own wiki page if you would rather do that.)