Advanced

"Mega Printer"

Posted by GESTi 
"Mega Printer"
February 09, 2016 04:24PM
Hello everyone smiling smiley

I am new at the world of 3D printing
And i am a visionary person.
I was thinking to make a big 3D Printer that will help me do big objects and with good quality, and i thought to make a big delta 3D Printer that can be placed in a room
but to make big objects with 100% fill and good quality everyone knows that needs a lot of time, but i was thinking to use multiple extrude diameter, so infill can be faster and it will reduce time.
Also for cooling down i am thinking to use radiator, so the hot air will not affect into the object quality
That's all i wanna reach so far, later i am thinking to make colored prints by merging the Red, Blue and Green filament (like LCD screen work) i think the colored printing could be realized.

I am looking for any tips and help to realize my "Mega 3D Printer"

(sorry for my English :/ )

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/09/2016 04:49PM by GESTi.
Re: "Mega Printer"
February 10, 2016 09:25PM
Hi Gesti,
I hope your ambitious project works out!
I only want to encourage you to be open minded and learn from others successes and failures.

So my #1 tip would be to read a lot more here before you start planning. Like this thread and many others.

There are some big technical issues when you scale a printer larger. For instance, some have started builds without understanding how much their structure will deflect, or how much power will be required to heat the build plate, or how long it will take to heat, or how much heat will be generated. That thread shows how important it is to be open to advice.

It is 10 times harder to build a huge printer that prints accurately - it must be extremely rigid - the larger it is the more mass the moving parts have and so it must move slower or make shaky prints, or miss steps! So it is even harder to make a large printer print fast. When you know the reasons why - then you will be ready.