Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Controlling 50 fans RAMPS 1.4

Posted by Cliint 
Controlling 50 fans RAMPS 1.4
February 22, 2016 09:55PM
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on here so I figured I would give it a go. This project has no real practical application to my knowledge. But I just want to see if it is possible. I'm a mechanical designer, and often want to exparement with ideas. My main problem is my lack of electrical and programming knowledge. Ok enough about that, here is the problem.

I would like to have the standard setup for controlling my 3d printer with the standard ramps 1.4 and the ardunio mega. On top of this I was wondering it it was possible to control 5, 10 or even 50 fans. I was wondering if you could turn different ones on and off at a random time programed with M codes.

It's just a thought challenge really.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/23/2016 08:43AM by Cliint.
Re: Help with an Idea
February 23, 2016 06:45AM
Do you need simple on/off or pwm control?

On/off = use shift registers as IO expanders.

If you can use the same pwm for all enabled fans then use shift registers such as 74hc595 to enable individual fans, and have the pwm triggering OE pin. This will cause the outputs to go high z while the pwm is high. A lot of pull down resistors then ensure the fans are off during high z.

If you want 50 individually programmable fan speeds then I suggest you look for pwm capable io expanders. I do not know their numbers, but I know that Intel Galileo gen1 uses some.

By the way... Help with an idea is basically the topic of the whole forum. Something like controlling 50 fans would have been more descriptive. :-)
Re: Help with an Idea
February 23, 2016 08:42AM
It would be just a Simple on off, no adjustment of fan speed would be require. Would you be able to use M codes to turn these on and off?