Extruder Printer Head for Concrete
April 12, 2016 09:19PM
All,

Hello and thank you everyone for supporting this great community! I've just embarked on a journey to build a large-scale printer, large enough for housing, that prints concrete. I'm an engineer, but totally new to 3D printers and robotics. I've started by buying a RepRap kit, which I will assemble and put together, and hope to learn a lot about "building a printer" in general. From there, I will scale up to other materials and larger platforms. While I'm building my RepRap, I've been researching some other teams' projects that have successfully accomplished this mission (e.g., Andrey's Build, Lund University's, and Contour Crafting / China).

My basic "experiment" step-by-step plan is to:
1) Build RepRap
2) Build basic extruder such as Lund University that does not move, and dial in concrete extrusion [I've got a concrete expert helping me with mixtures]
3) Dial in larger 3d printing platform [I've got someone who has built larger scaled printers before that will help me with this]
4) Design more robust extruder design such as Andrey or Contour

With all of that said, are there any smart minds out there that are familiar with some other builds (perhaps even open-source) I should read and get help from? Does the basic plan seem to make sense? Are there any specific resources on "building big printers" I may not know about and should read?

Lastly, if anyone is interested in helping, please let me know.

THANK YOU
Re: Extruder Printer Head for Concrete
April 27, 2016 06:19PM
I hope your project goes well! I think it's fascinating - that's why I'm commenting.

Just a few observations.

Scaling up a printer involves much more costly components and care, because of the need for:
- increased rigidity
- more powerful motors and more sophisticated motor drivers
- closed loop
- a faster controller (32-bit)
- longer cable runs for sensors and motors