Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Lego 3D printer

Posted by Draco_nemesis 
Lego 3D printer
May 21, 2016 05:42PM
Hello everybody;
I've been planning to do a Lego 3D printer as a project. The model I had in mind would use the Lego EV3 robot kit to guide the motors in the 3 axys (x,y,z) and I would use a Ramps set connected through an Arduino to my pc. Since I have the motors in the Lego section I would use the ramps set to connect and control an extruder and a heatbed however I'm not sure if it is possible since i'm new to electronics. I was wondering if somebody could lend me hand with my doubts. I should say that I am not aiming to print complicated objects I just want to have a simple machine that does simple jobs.

-First what program do you use to control a 3d printer from a pc? Do I need some kind of programming skills to use it? If so, where can I learn them?

-Can I control the extruder flow speed with the program?

-Does that program allows me to only have connected an extruder and a hotbed, or does it need all the 3d orinter systems to work? (I've been told that the program would work but I wouldn't have the extruder/motors sync. Is it true?)

-Can the heat emanated from the heatbed melt the legos even if they are not side by side? If it can, what other surface could I use to replace the heatbed?

-What could be a good PLA print speed?

I know these are a lot of questions and I would greatly appreciate any help, even if you can answer only one question. Also if I made a format mistake please let me know so I can change it. Thanks!
Re: Lego 3D printer
May 22, 2016 12:09PM
To control the printer: a program like Pronterface or Repetier Host

Programming skils: For Marlin and Repetier firmware: able to use the Arduino IDE to configure and upload the firmware.

The firmware controls the extruder speed & flow and the gcode tells the printer the amount needed during moves.