Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Another Salt Lake area builder

Posted by macphyter 
Another Salt Lake area builder
October 13, 2011 06:20PM
Hi guys, I thought I would chime in here. My name is Dennis, and I live in Farmington. I've been building a Prusa for several weeks now. I'm just about ready to do a first print in the next couple of days, so I'll be fighting the learning curve of calibration myself. I just picked up some glass for my heated printbed today.

I bought most of my parts from Ultimachine and I've been pretty happy with their stuff. They're in the USA, so shipping is cheaper than those overseas sites. They even throw in a sample of PLA filament with each order, so I've got three different colors to play with now.

I'm an electrical engineer by day, so if any of you have problems with electronics, I'd be happy to help. I'm actually thinking of designing my own version of the Gen6 board and adding a heated bed temperature controller. I might even sell them online if it works out well.

-Dennis
Re: Another Salt Lake area builder
April 12, 2012 02:58AM
Hey Dennis, I'm an EE guy too. well not quite, I'm still in school. But I took certification classes and have experience as a technician before deciding to go back to school for my EE.
Well working on my printer, I have had some ideas about what would make it better. If you decide to design a new board, let me know and I'll help you with it between my classes. I'll be starting my "junior" year in the fall. I've been keeping an eye out for a good "Senior" project and have been thinking of this project as well as some other open source projects.