I have just put another full set of RepRap Mendel plastic parts on Ebay:

[cgi.ebay.com]

Happy bidding!

Best wishes

Adrian
Re: Full set of RepRap Mendel parts
April 17, 2010 03:33AM
Hi,

I'm very new here (only just registered), but had seen the RepRap a couple of years or so ago. Having studied mechanical engineering and being a software developer by trade, this kind of device appeals.

I am trying to figure out the costs and approach to build myself a RepRap and have seen that both you and NopHead are selling complete Mendel sets on Ebay. These are currently in the region of £200-£300 before shipping and the auctions have still got many days to run.

On the RepRap site and the BOM is says that a RepRap can be built for under £500. (Actually c 350 Euros is a quoted figure). How would this be possible if the RP parts come to more than 50% of that? In the BOM, the RP parts are quoted at £20?

Thanks,
Craig
April 17, 2010 05:06AM
On the RepRap site and the BOM is says that a RepRap can be built for under £500. (Actually c 350 Euros is a quoted figure). How would this be possible if the RP parts come to more than 50% of that? In the BOM, the RP parts are quoted at £20?

Well, if you like, you can buy Adrian's parts at £300, build your Mendel, and sell a set for £300, so that the parts will have paid for themselves.

Or you can sell the parts you print for £20, if you like. Wade Bortz famously gave a set to some students for the price of a case of beer.

Or you can make the plastic parts out of wood, or metal. Or build a RepStrap out of wood or metal.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/17/2010 05:09AM by SebastienBailard.

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.

Remember, you're all RepRap developers (once you've joined the super-secret developer mailing list), and the wiki, RepRap.org, [reprap.org] is for everyone and everything! grinning smiley
April 17, 2010 06:06AM
Hi Sebastien,

Thanks for the response.