Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

first print, need help with temperature questions

Posted by spacemanaki 
first print, need help with temperature questions
October 26, 2011 11:45PM
Hello, I'm a new RepRap novice. I've recently finished assembling a Prusa Mendel with a Gen 6 board, MakerGear hot end, and no heated bed. I planned to print PLA onto blue tape to start... but I'm having trouble getting to a first print.

Whenever I try to print, the extruder seems to have inconsistent flow. The first layer (the raft, I think?) will only end up with 1/4 to 1/2 of the filament on the bed. After some time I will just stop the print since it's obvious something is wrong.

I can set the temp in Pronterface manually, and manually extrude which seems to be working correctly, but I'm not sure. I set the temp to 180, and monitor it. It will go up to around 190-200 and then settle down to 180-185 and fluctuate around there if I just leave it idle for a while. If I manually extrude, a thin stream of filament will be emitted but sometimes it seems to clog, as there will be a rush of filament all at once. If it's sitting idle like this, eventually it will stop extruding after a manual push and just hang out.

However, when I try to print my test object (a small block) the temp is much higher, and the monitor reports that it's around 200 most of the time. I don't know if this is right, as everywhere I read that PLA is printed around 185, but on the other hand, on this Skeinforge wiki page the settings are higher, 200-210. [wiki.bitsfrombytes.com]

I'm just importing an STL file (made in Google Sketchup because I'm such a noob) into Pronterface and letting it call Skeinforge, I think. It does a lot of stuff and outputs a gcode file... I can see the M104 instruction in the gcode and none of those instructions send less than 200, I think. In the following the temp it's setting is 200, right? "M104 S200.0"