Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z Axis not moving (Resolved)

Posted by bbriggstkd 
Z Axis not moving (Resolved)
November 12, 2010 07:50PM
I'm not exactly sure what is happening. If my z axis is stopping moving or if it just isn't moving enough while printing.

I'm using Skeinforge 31, 5d firmware, printing with ABS

It seems to be printing the 3 layers of the raft fine. After the first layer of the object, 40mm cube, it seems that my Z axis isn't working any more. As it is printing the layers, it is just plowing the plasic that is just layed down.

I'm new to this, so I may just not have a setting correct.

Thanks

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/18/2010 07:34AM by bbriggstkd.
Re: Z Axis not moving
November 12, 2010 08:04PM
It also seem to stop moving filiment at about the 3rd or 4th layer. On the layer where it starts to .20 infill about, no plastic is actually coming out.
November 12, 2010 08:58PM
I think that the heater may be turning off. The light on the board is still on but it may be cooling off too much. When I run it from the RepStrapper host software, I sometimes have to cycle the "Switch heat on" button to get it to turn back on.
November 13, 2010 03:59AM
If you have the z-axis speed too high then this will happen.
Make sure that Limit is set to 1 mm/sec in Skeinforge.

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
November 16, 2010 11:06PM
I have tried dropping my z axis speec to 1 mm/sec and even 0.5 mm/sec. I just seems to stop moving in the Z axis after the first few layers are printed. I can hear the stepper motor chirp and the lights flash on the stepper driver but the axis doesn't move.

It moves up just fine while it is printing the raft and the first couple layers of the object. I've tried changing the layer thickness but that doesn't seem to make any difference.