Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Suitibility of reprap firmware for CNC

Posted by Hugoagogo 
Suitibility of reprap firmware for CNC
July 06, 2011 09:57PM
Hi this is my first time here and i am working on creating a basic CNC milling machine to play with, i plan on using it just for simple tasks like milling PCB or engraving at first.

Since im currently a student and don't have alot of cash i was planning on designing and building most of the machine myself out of anything i could scavenge.

At the current point in time i have built the x and y axises and have been doing some experiments with controlling these before i go any further. For my electronics i have bought 3 of the polulu stepper driver and control it either using an arduino or teensy that i already had.

My electronics are working and i have been able to do some tests with hardcoded patterns (e.g. move in a square and was wondering what a good next step in control software would be, i was originally just going to write a script to extract all the lines from an svg and use them as tool paths but then stumbled upon reprap and thought that i might be able to use some of it's arduino compatible firmware such as Teacup

Getting to the point at last, i wanted to know if the i would be able to use the reprap firmware for CNC even though it is usually used for extrusion, to my knowledge the reprap firmware is just a simple control that reads g-code and so all i would need to do is send it g-code generated for a CNC machine, is this correct?

Thanks in advance, i am also open to any other tips and advice people here might have.
Re: Suitibility of reprap firmware for CNC
July 06, 2011 11:49PM
You will get the best bang for bucks using emc2

[wiki.linuxcnc.org]

Get generic cnc board that includes parallel port and then purchase or find an old pc that has at least 1 gig of ram and is at least 700 MHz.

It is possible to use reprap firmware for cnc project, but I would not.