Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Finish of RepRapped parts?

Posted by jimford 
Finish of RepRapped parts?
January 29, 2012 11:46AM
I'm a retired mechanical engineer with a gas turbine manufacturing background. The RepRap project looks interesting, but from what I can see the output can be pretty rough. Is there ongoing work in improving the finish of parts?

Jim
Re: Finish of RepRapped parts?
January 29, 2012 12:02PM
Hi Jim,

The RepRap project is VERY interesting, just the thing for a retired mechanical engineer, welcome aboard smileys with beer

You can print finer layers and get very smooth results, but that does take more time and a well calibrated machine.

Some systems use a chemical vapour bath to smooth out the surface, I have been meaning to try a small 'fog generator' Piezo element to vaporise some acetone in a metal container, but have not yet had the guts to try it out.

There has been some talk about using IR lasers to rework the surface after printing, but no sign that this has surfaced yet.

Very ocasionally I use a small blowtorch to smooth out minor features, but a good machine should just give a smooth but layered part, some people like the effect.

You can also use sandpaper smiling smiley Works very well.

Did you have any neat ideas using heating or something else?

[richrap.blogspot.com]
January 29, 2012 12:13PM
Here are two things I printed yesterday, at 100 micron and 50 micron resolution, respectively:

The finish isn't perfect, but It's pretty darn close, especially on the 50 micron print.