Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hello World...

Posted by Shroudeye 
Hello World...
April 13, 2012 06:00PM
(NOTE: I couldn't find an "Introduce Yourself" thread, so, I'm posting it here.)

Hello to all RepRappers. I am Shroudeye.

I'm an Architecture student, from Turkey. Due to my profession, I almost always need to build scale models of what I create, for studying and formal presentation. So a rapid-prototyping machine, especially a low-cost&self-replicating one is something of a dream-(to be)come-true for me. I can't wait to start building one!

I'm currently interested in building a Prusa-Mendel model, as it seems to be the "beginner" scale. My experience is... Well, I can quickly assemle an IKEA product, but I haven't got any soldering background... But who cares, I'm on for the challenge, bring it on!

More about me... As said, I'm an Architect-But that's not all. I also interested in gaming industry, and I'm an amateur level designer (And obviously, a gamer! >grinning smiley ). Oh and of course, making models are both a hobby and a part of my profession. And my deepest passion is to build a LIVE, fully hand-built Model Roller Coaster.

So that's me. I'm glad to meet you all!
--Shroudeye
Re: Hello World...
April 14, 2012 12:26AM
Welcome to the RepRap forum!
I am new as well, just getting all the parts for my MendelMax. Cant wait to get started as well

Jonas
April 14, 2012 01:01PM
Well, thanks Jonas, and everyone else.

By the way, I got a question: I was checking the plastic parts (on OpenSCAD) to ensure I got them correct (I found a guy who can make them for me). I've downloaded them from github.

It looks like I got the "Printable Bushing" and the "Coupling" different from what it looks like in the visual instructions (I'm using the PDF version made by Gary Hodgson).

Check the picture for details: