Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Absolute newbie questions

Posted by kaluce 
Absolute newbie questions
July 16, 2012 12:24PM
I admit it, I'm a newbie to the 3d printing field and it's recent developments, but I'd like to get into it. I have a few questions, but if this topic becomes really helpful, maybe it'd be possible to pin it?

The questions I have are;

Where should I start reading to learn the basics of what to look for? I don't know much about 3d printing, except you can print pretty much anything that fits on the platform with the right software and hardware mix.

What software is available for a Linux based system? for my development machine I use Debian and would like to stay there if possible, though I do have Windows as well if a solution is significantly easier to use there.

How much should I spend? I was thinking about $650 (usd), is this enough to get a complete unassembled kit that will when tuned of course, produce a good result, even if I have to print it really slow?

Is there a reputable vendor in the US that sells complete kits?
Re: Absolute newbie questions
July 16, 2012 01:24PM
Read the wiki articles here, and ask questions.

There are some books out or coming out, check your local libraries.

I dont think $650 will get you a complete kit anywhere, but should be enough to buy all the parts piecemeal, if you shop smart.

You should be able to stay completely on debian/linux if you want.

I ended up getting a complete kit from reprappro.com in the UK, which was $750 including the international shipping.
July 17, 2012 02:42PM