Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Maximum Print Size

Posted by Katrisha 
Maximum Print Size
January 23, 2013 07:36AM
Hi, I'm new to 3D printing. I'm looking to purchase, build or modify an existing design to allow me to print an item approximately 450mm x 300mm x 100mm. Can someone help? I can't afford to spend 10s of thousands on a commercial size unit.

Thanks,
Trish
Re: Maximum Print Size
January 23, 2013 08:00AM
Divide into smaller parts and then glue/bolt/snap them together. From my experiments superglue bonds appear to be as strong, if not stronger than PLA.

With a single large print if something goes wrong then you are out a lot of time and money. These printers still have a significant learning curve and trial and error period.

Andy
January 23, 2013 10:04AM
Alternatively, if you need the part in ABS, applying a little bit of acetone onto the contact surface and pressing both parts together works extremely well. You will have to let it set for some hours to achieve maximum strength. If you have to bridge small gaps in the contact surface, a 50/50 acetone & ABS slurry might be better as it already contains a little bit of structural material.

Printing big is always troublesome without heated chamber, but if you need that large a build volume, the Mendel90 design might be one of the better ones.
January 23, 2013 12:06PM
Agreed regarding ABS but I think the time required to purge the acetone is a bit longer than a few hours for most items. I'd give it at least a full day to offgas. And as with all carcinogenic and/or poisonous solvents, do so in a ventilated area...
January 24, 2013 08:07AM
Acetone is widely used as nail polish remover so I'm sure you can safely say that it's not a carcinogen.