Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cheapest Electronics

Posted by Jeehroen 
Cheapest Electronics
October 05, 2013 09:43AM
Hello there! Thank you for reading my post,

I'm a complete noob in this world of 3d printing and i just made my own 3d printer, i know have all the hardware like motors and the table. But which electronics do i need to use? What is the cheapest way to control the motors? what program do i use?
i now have 4 electro motors which arent stepper motors, do i need to buy stepper motors?
Re: Cheapest Electronics
October 05, 2013 10:35AM
Yes, you need stepper motors. Ones with at least 40 Ncm torque and specified for less than 5V. Everything else isn't impossible, but requires substantial development efforts.

All RepRap electronics have the same basic feature set. All of them can run every printer. All of them have the same CPU on it, an 16 or 20 MHz ATmega, few have an ARM CPU. So it's mostly a matter of taste which electronics to get. Single board, stacked board, self-solderable, plugged or fixed stepper drivers, etc. A small selection: [reprap.org]

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

October 05, 2013 10:43AM
I'm not sure what you have made, but if it can't do 3D printing it's not a 3D printer.

You should be able to use any sort of motor you like as long as it can be used to move the axes very precisely - 0.1mm or 0.01mm perhaps.

I suspect that stepper motors are by far the easiest way to do that.

There are two aspects to the electronics system. It controls the movement of the motors in order to position the table under the extruder. And it converts the data from a suitable computerized "drawing" into the movements needed to make the part depicted in the drawing.

You should read this Reprap Wiki

...R
October 05, 2013 11:16AM

And it converts the data from a suitable computerized "drawing" into the movements needed to make the part depicted in the drawing.