Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First Build Suggestions for Semi-skilled Newbie?

Posted by repraprip 
First Build Suggestions for Semi-skilled Newbie?
January 09, 2015 02:39AM
I am currently in machinist school. I have some experience with drafting, mechanical engineering, electronics, and Arduino. I want to build a 3-D printer for my final project. Budget is not a big issue, but I don't think I could spend more than 300 hours on it and graduate in time. The printer build would need to show several machining techniques. Also my instructor will be teaching me G-Codes or M-Code next year, so I would prefer it operated on that. (I don't know if they all do.) I don't really have any expectations for what type of parts I will be able to print in the end, but I would prefer to use the cheapest plastic medium possible so I can make whatever I want with it later on and not feel foolish for making a $1 toothbrush that costs me $10. What would be a good printer to build with these parameters in mind, please?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/09/2015 03:02AM by repraprip.
Re: First Build Suggestions for Semi-skilled Newbie?
January 09, 2015 03:26AM
A popular one is Prusa i3 but if you don't care about build size I myself would make a Mendel Max (don't know why but I always liked that machine). You can either buy a complete kit or source all the parts on your own and just buy a plastic kit. If you buy a full kit I think you would be hard pressed to spend 300 hours on one, probably more like half that if you take your time. If you built stuff like this before maybe even a long weekend. However if you need to engineer something (for a class) then a kit may not work as it's mostly just bolting things together then wiring and adjusting and testing.