Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Where should I start?

Posted by Michaelj 
Where should I start?
February 09, 2015 03:40PM
I am new to this stuff, been reading around this site for a while, but am overwhelmed!
I would like to know where to start, I have been thinking of building a prusa i3, but do
not know where is a good place to start or where to get the parts needed. I have a cnc
and would like to cut my own parts, but nowhere can I find the plans for all the parts, I
am even willing to purchase a kit if available.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/09/2015 03:41PM by Michaelj.
Re: Where should I start?
February 09, 2015 08:39PM
I recommend a kit. By the time you shop around for all of the parts, You will spend more on gas and postage than you will save by buying one piece at a time. I recently bought A Worldnet A602 on ebay. ($430 including shipping). (It may be cheaper on Alibaba). Even though it is from china, I received it in less than two weeks. It is a complete kit including most of the tools required to assemble it. The assembly instructions are adequate. The mother board is already programmed. So by the end of the second day of assembly barring any wiring mistakes, you should be up and running.
Down load several slicer programs to see which one you like the best. I prefer Craftware.
February 10, 2015 09:02AM
I bought mine on eBay for around $100 less, from the US. Currently $319 >> Search for Folger i3

-David

Find me online at:
Thingiverse
Instructables.com
LinkedIn
Facebook

Check out my FolgerTech Prusa i3 (plexi) at MindRealm.net
February 10, 2015 11:08AM
My advice : don't buy Folger's kit. Same price is possible folowing a BOM, with aluminium frame, bigger motors, Rework plastic parts, better extruder and hotend. Or prefer a better kit. Buy a good maker's kit, not a seller's price. winking smiley

Collective intelligence emerges when a group of people work together effectively. Prusa i3 Folger (A lot of the parts are wrong, boring !)