Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

reprap slicing question

Posted by bizit524 
reprap slicing question
January 13, 2016 09:08AM
Hey there guys,
I am new to 3D printing, so I am sure I will be visiting this forum quite frequently. I am quite a fast learner and am able to fabricate stuff quite easily out of anything, this is why i got a 3d printer.
so currently I am using Cura. i have been reading reviews on whats the best slicing program etc etc. However I haven't been able to find a answer to this question I pose.
I am using Cura because it was the first one I found and it is very very easy to use. HOWEVER, i couldn't find in the options where to pick a item on the print bed and individually set the settings.
Am I missing this? or I am assuming Cura cant do this. Let me clarify what I am asking with an example

I would like to fill my print bed with various items and kick it off right before work, prints while I am at work then boom magically done when I am home. HOWEVER the problem I am having is some items I place on the bed want different settings. example there is a key guard I want to print that is 100% infill , .2 layer height at a fairly high 60mms print speed. but then there is other ones that I have that require only 20% infill, .1 layer height and low print speed of 30-40mms.

Is cura capable of individually setting each piece for different settings? i am guessing no. If no, is there a slicing program that will allow me to do this?

the quick and easy answer which I have already thought of either, just print them seperately (which I dont really want to do) or find objects that print all at the same /generally the same then print them. The latter of the two options is entirely possible but just takes more time ( i am lazy) to find parts that are generally the same.

any suggestions?
Re: reprap slicing question
January 13, 2016 09:45AM
First there's this: [slic3r.org]