Getting started
April 18, 2008 07:53PM
Hello, Denver area RepRappers!

My first "Seedling" parts are starting to show up, and I thought it was time to kick off this forum. I'm sure I will have many questions, but I have what I hope is an easy one to start: Is it possible to upload pictures or other files to this forum?

I'm embarking on this project with relatively little relevant experience. I used to build electronics projects, some reasonably complicated, but nothing like that since my first kid ten years ago. I'm a computational biology professor during the day, so I can probably handle the CS stuff, although I haven't done much low-level interface stuff. I also don't have a lot of experience assembling mechanical things or working with metal or plastic, but ya gotta start somewhere.

Two friends say they want to participate, as does my 10 year old. So I at least have company! Our rough goal is to build a repStrap, and then use it to make a Darwin (or whatever is current by the time we finish our repStrap).

I'm in the process of setting up shop, so to speak -- basically from zero. I'm starting with just a little space in the basement, and an aging tool kit. First task is getting ahold of decent small workbench, a vice and a new hacksaw....

Larry
Now we have a blog
April 18, 2008 08:51PM
I've put up a blog where I can publish pictures, too. It's [web.mac.com] Check it out.
Re: Getting started
June 01, 2008 04:28AM
Hi there! I'm also based out of Denver, and I'm interested in your progress. I checked out your blog, and I think it's really neat what you're doing. Let's get in touch.

~~~~
[phyco.org]
June 04, 2008 12:34PM
Hello, I also live in denver, and am very seriously interested in building a reprap. I don't have too much experience in the mechanical aspect,, but have a nimble mind and a willingness to learn as I go. Repraps don't seem overly complicated, though I'm sure there's some finer nuances that I'll butt heads with...