Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Kwando checking in

Posted by kwando 
Kwando checking in
May 17, 2012 12:24AM
Hi All,

Thought I'd pop in and say hi.

I haven't been able to stop reading about the wonderful world of 3D printing since I came across the printers currently seeking funding on kickstarter a few days ago. Truly believe this technology will revolutionize the world!

I'm personally a fan of crowd funding and what it allows budding entrepreneurs to achieve and bring to market.

Right now I'm doing research into which printer would be best for me. I've got a list of specs I'd like the printer to posses, but since I'm completely new to this, it'd be great if anyone could tell me if the features I want are worth having.

- 0.1mm layer thickness or better
- decent speed
- expandable
- can print with ABS and PLA

Cheers guys.

I'm glad to have found this community.

- kwando
Re: Kwando checking in
May 17, 2012 07:49PM
Hi Kwando,
Welcome to the world of 3D printing. It's a lot of fun. There's a lot of printers on the market these days, but they all have varying degrees of complexity to build and run. If you want to build a printer yourself, then a Reprap Prusa Mendel is the best way to go on most fronts. It has the best support and availability by a long way. If you want to buy a pre-built printer, then a Makerbot Cupcake is arguably the best way to go.

In answer to your questions:

1. 0.1mm layer thickness or better. - Nearly all well-tuned printers are capable of doing such fine layers, but what's the point? What are you trying to achieve? 0.1mm is very slow printing. Most repraps print in the 0.3 to 0.4mm layer range, which is adequate for most uses.