Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New member introduction

Posted by bsutton 
New member introduction
July 06, 2011 09:57PM
Gentlefolk,
I've just joined the forums and order parts for a Prusa, so living in Melbourne (Heidelberg) I thought I would introduce myself.

My background is a software developer (Java) so if you've got questions on the subject I would be happy to help out.

I'm currently trying to get the Host application running on Ubuntu (my desktop OS) and its not as easy as it should be.
I'm looking at updating the debian packages so that it will actually install the host application with a one line command. I suspect this is going to take a little while.

As to interests going forward, I'm working on a 3d scanner or what I would call a 2.8 d scanner. I've done a lot of reading and most scanners that clam to be 3d are really only 2.5d in that the simply scan from the front of an object. What I'm trying to do is build a system that rotates the object to build close to a full 3d model. I've have some theories about doing a full 3d scan using a transparent turn table and having the laser scan under the turntable. Some interesting issues here with refraction but I think I can build software that can correct for these issues.

Once I get a bit further along with the CAD model I will post the design.

I would be interested in hearing what people think of the idea. Is there something out there that already does this that I've missed?

Oh, and I want the design to be fully printable except for the motors and and electronics. I have a design in mind that looks promising, but as always the devil is in the detail.

By the way has anyone considered the idea of designing a printable motor, just add your own wire and brushes?

Brett
Re: New member introduction
July 07, 2011 10:51PM
Hi and welcome aboard Brett.

I have a working Prusa and Huxley. I'm also about to releace the Mini Prusa printer.