Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

phidget and salvaged parts

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
phidget and salvaged parts
January 24, 2009 10:24PM
to, a complete noob, the electronics are the scariest part of the whole system, as well as the most expensive. I have a proposition that should reduce the cost and make it less complicated at the cost of making it slightly less open source and more cpu intensive. unless there's something obvious I'm missing it should even work.

phidget makes a stepper controller board. assuming this board has enough accuracy to work with reprap it could replace the majority of the electronic. this means that all the servo's have to be controlled by the pc, not just sending an stl file to an arduino. thus more cpu intensive but significantly cheaper. second part is the stepper motors. all scanners and printers have stepper motors, and where I live can be picked up for 6$ at value village. assuming these are strong/accurate enough these could replace almost any motor on the reprap (the phidget control board has 8 slots) no more separate board for the extruder. then we need a temp sensor. a single board usb temp sensor should be fine and cheap. unless there's any electronics I'm missing that should be all.

stepper motor driver +80$ from phidget
stepper motors = 6-12$ from the local used goods store
temp sensor = ???
Re: phidget and salvaged parts
January 24, 2009 11:41PM
It's definitely an option for a RepStrap, and if you want to try it I wish you good luck.

The NEMA 17s and tin-can steppers that you find in printers and scanners don't always work out and they aren't going to be able to run quite so fast as the standard 23s but they can be made to work. It should also be noted that salvage can be fickle - there are printers and scanners with only DC motors in them as well, so someone trying to go this route could waste a good bit of money.