Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First Motherboard

Posted by 87morpheus 
First Motherboard
February 20, 2014 02:26AM
I am new to reprap as well as 3d printers in general. I have been doing a lot of research and I have decided to build my own 3d printer instead of buying one. Although with all the research I have been doing, I could not decide which motherboard I should get. I do not plan to buy many upgrades to the motherboard, so I would like one that will last a long time. I was looking at the RUMBA board, but would there be one that will be better for a beginner?
Re: First Motherboard
February 20, 2014 06:55AM
Personally. I would go with a RAMPS. They are very well documented, easy to use and modular so if you break one bit, just replace it. Also RAMPS are available from many places, I think the RUMBA is currently only available from reprapdiscount.

Im sure other people with have something different to say, but thats my opinion.
February 20, 2014 09:25AM
Since you're new to 3D printing, I'd second RAMPS over RUMBA. The extra advantages that RUMBA has over RAMPS would be for a more advanced setup with two or three extruders, not typically the starting point for someone new to 3D printing. RAMPS is also 1/2 the price fully loaded or even less if you're lucky and find a complete deal for everything.
February 21, 2014 02:50AM
Thank you for the responses. RAMPS looks good to me, so I think that's what I am going to get.
March 06, 2014 04:23PM
Hmmmm..my only advice against RAMPS is how it deals with its MOSFETS...it has a flaw in design that makes them enter in resonance with the hotbed and, unless they are quite powerful, they tend to fry:

I have one myself and got it burnt in the first day...actually is just a matter of luck whether your provider has assembled the correct type of MOSFET or not. So, just for precaution, I would warn you to get some with the specifications of any of the above links, just in case.