Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heatbed relay makes rapid clicking sound (SOLVED)

Posted by Mavni 
Heatbed relay makes rapid clicking sound (SOLVED)
August 15, 2015 07:34AM
Hi fellow RepRapers!

I'm pretty new to 3D printing, just built my first 3D printer, the Prusa i3
I've been printing and tweaking for the last week, suddenly this issue arose and I cannot print
Whenever I turn on the heatbed, I hear the relay click sound, but not a normal 1-click ON and 1-click OFF, but a rapid series of clicks that sound very intimidating...
The clicks are very rapid, I would say it's probably ~32 clicks per second, I am afraid to turn it on for more than a second because i'm pretty sure I saw a bit of smoke once it was on for more than that

I triple checked all the wiring and tried some firmware changes (and reverted those due to lack of success), it doesn't seem like a software problem to me, as I changed nothing that could be related

My heatbed is MK3 and the relay is an SLA-24VDC-SL-A

Please see the following video for example: [youtu.be]

Can anyone please assist with this? It's driving me crazy...

Thanks in advance,
Michael

Edited 4 time(s). Last edit at 08/15/2015 05:14PM by Mavni.
Re: Heatbed relay makes rapid clicking sound
August 15, 2015 08:18AM
Did you turn PID temperature control on?

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
August 15, 2015 08:27AM
I figured it was supposed to be off when using an analog relay, is it the opposite?
If that's the problem, why did it start happening all of a sudden?
August 15, 2015 08:52AM
Here are my PID settings:

// PID settings:
// Comment the following line to disable PID and enable bang-bang.
#define PIDTEMP
#define BANG_MAX 255 // limits current to nozzle while in bang-bang mode; 255=full current
#define PID_MAX BANG_MAX // limits current to nozzle while PID is active (see PID_FUNCTIONAL_RANGE below); 255=full current
#ifdef PIDTEMP