Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Everything freezes up

Posted by jlefebvre 
Everything freezes up
June 23, 2011 08:47PM
Hey guys, so I am attempting to build a Prusa Mendel. I purchased and assembled a RAMPS kit from Ultimachine. I am completely new to the whole electronics/programming thing. I installed the firmware from [github.com] to my arduino and then attached the RAMPS board. After that, I powered everything up. As soon as I flicked the power switch on all of the motors tensed up and could no longer be turned by hand, the heat sinks on my Pololus also got warm. While it was like this, I quickly tried to test the x-axis by going into the reprap printing program and it didn't budge. I quickly shut the whole thing off. Any clue what I did wrong?
Re: Everything freezes up
June 23, 2011 09:17PM
You made a good decision to power everything off. Each Pololu board has a trimpot that needs to be properly adjusted or your motors won't turn (not dangerous) or the Allegro chip would overheat (dangerous). Most firmware is set to hold the x and y axis but not the z axis. So, you won't be able to move them as soon as you power up as you found out.

The fact that you couldn't nudge them with the Reprap host might be a communication setting issue. You might not have the correct USB device selected or the firmware that you loaded might have set the baud rate to a different setting from what the host is set for. It could also be an incompatibility with the version of the reprap host that you're using and the firmware.

I suggest you load Sprinter instead (https://github.com/kliment/Sprinter). That works for a lot of people with RAMPS. It's compatible with Repsnapper and also with Kliment's Printrun (https://github.com/kliment/Printrun) for sending g-codes to printer. Save the trouble and skip the Reprap host all together. The other sw you will need is the latest version of Skeinforge, which is currently 41.
June 24, 2011 04:06AM