Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noob RepRap Questions

Posted by darryn 
Noob RepRap Questions
October 02, 2012 05:57PM
Hi All.
My name is Darryn and I am from Cape Town, South Africa.
After reading a lot of information about 3D printing, I have decided to take the plunge and build a machine.
There does not seem to be a big RepRap community in South Africa, so I am hoping that all you knowledgeable folks will be able to help me on my way.
Just to make it clear, I am a complete nood with 3D printing, hence all the questions I will be asking ...

Will the Prusa Mendel Iteration 2 be a good starting point for a complete noob?
If so, were would be a good source of the printed parts?
I see that there are companies/forum members that sell the printed parts, but I can't seem to find anyone in South Africa.
I was thinking of taking the files to a 3D printing company, and getting them to print them for me, as I know no one with a 3D printer. If I had to go this route, what type of questions/instructions would I be asked by the company doing the printing, eg. type of plastic, etc. ?
More questions about WHICH .stl files to print will follow ....

TIA
Re: Noob RepRap Questions
October 03, 2012 02:55AM
You can buy a completely assembled printer for what you would pay most commercial 3d printing companies to print your parts. And normally you would have them print in ABS as it is the cheapest and strongest of the plastics offered.

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
Re: Noob RepRap Questions
October 03, 2012 04:29AM