Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help! My Z axis are homing in the wrong direction! SOLVED!!!!

Posted by jy.ding1 
Help! My Z axis are homing in the wrong direction! SOLVED!!!!
September 11, 2013 11:48PM
Hey guys!
I'm relatively new to this, so please forgive any grievous mistakes I may make in this post. So basically I have a scaled up mendelmax that's running on Marlin V1 and Pronterface. It's using an arduino mega 2560 with ramps 1.4 and pololu drivers. My problem is that for some reason the Z axis is homing downwards instead of up towards the endstop. In the Config.h I set the value to 1 which is max position I believe. I've looked through various forums and have tried all the solutions but for some reason it doesn't work for me. When I press the negative button in pronterface the Z axis goes down and when I press the positive button it goes up as expected. However whenever I press the home button for the Z axis it goes down. I've tried to set it as -1 for minimum and it still goes down (kinda expected it too but I just found it odd that it did that). Anyways, I have no clue why it's doing that and attached I have my Config.h file if anyone wants to take a look at it. If you need anything clarified or any more information I'd be glad to give it to you to help you help me smiling smiley
Thanks,
Jeff
P.S. Please forgive the wordiness haha.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/12/2013 11:21PM by jy.ding1.
Attachments:
open | download - Configuration.h (20.7 KB)
Re: Help! My Z axis are homing in the wrong direction!
September 12, 2013 04:02AM
I downloaded your config file, and I didn't notice anything wrong.

So the short answer is this: Move the endstop to the bottom, and home down. This is good. Homing to the Z max is bad. You are going to have a horrible time calibrating your machine homing from the top. It's really easy to wiggle your Z endstop to where you need your 'home' to be.