Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Firmware upload problem: SOLVED

Posted by ifrisbie 
Firmware upload problem: SOLVED
March 10, 2012 03:39PM
Hi Everyone,

I have my bootloader instaled (using usbasp) on my v1.3 board and am trying to use arguino to upload firmware.

I've tried uploading on both my XP machine and my macbook and on both systems the com ports are recognized no problem. On my MAC I see this:

Binary sketch size: 18450 bytes (of a 63488 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

On my XP machine I see this:

Binary sketch size: 18450 bytes (of a 63488 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

I'm a noob, I'll put that out there. I did test the COM while building the board after the SMT chip was installed with components and everything checked out ok using putty (TX/RX loopback). I also checked continutity between the chip and the pins on my ATmega644P on RX/TX which were good. ATmega has power.

Does anyone know what I should do next? Can I hook up putty direct and get anything useful diagnostically talking straight to the boot-loader software (any commands, or expected output upon reset, etc - or is the bootloader completely silent)? Not sure how to diagnose this going forward. Can I assume that its not a problem having my external power supply connected with the USB connected at the same time? Is the external supply even needed to perform an upload (I'm assuming its not, but just verifying).

Any advise would be appreciated. Dead in the water ATM.

Ian

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/13/2012 08:32PM by ifrisbie.
Re: Firmware upload problem
March 11, 2012 08:02PM
A fellow group member pointed out that I was missing the auto-rst jumper. I corrected this problem but I'm still in the same boat. Any advice appreciated.
Re: Firmware upload problem
March 12, 2012 10:41PM