Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

No power on the y-axis pololu board

Posted by ruandp 
No power on the y-axis pololu board
November 13, 2012 11:10AM
Hi everyone,

Forgive me if this has been answered somewhere else but I’m very new at this so need some help.

Have basically finished my build and sorting out the electronics and motors.
On 1st connection of all the motors to my Sanguinololu 1.3a, all motors functioned, except for the 1 connected to my y-axis. Completely dead.

Tested and adjusted the voltage on all the Pololu boards but no voltage showed on this particular board which is connected to the y-axis. Moved the Pololu board to a working x axis to test the board and the motor continued to function perfectly… So nothing wrong with the Pololu board then. Also tested the motor on a different axis point and no problems.

Tried to see if I have continuity between the step and dir pins on the pololu board in the y-axis and the Atmega 644P chip (pin 28 and 29 I think) and it seemed OK. Don’t know if this really proves anything though.

I’m a complete newb with this so don’t really know why it seems as if there is no power being let through to y-axis pololu board. Can I test for this with my multi meter? How do I do that? Would I be able to test the continuity for this between the power access point and the pololu voltage points? Thought that might be a way to see of the solder point was sound.

Could this be that Atmega pins are not assigned correctly for supplying power to the Y-Axis? How do I check this and how would I fix this? Does the Atmega chip even control the power flow to various axis points on the Sanguinololu board or does the power supply come directly from power cable access points. Like I said, a complete newb.

Using Sprinter firmware by the way.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards

rdp

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/14/2012 03:13PM by ruandp.
Re: No power on the y-axis pololu board
November 15, 2012 05:16AM