Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Make my own in 5 steps

Posted by diogovb 
Make my own in 5 steps
July 25, 2011 11:16PM
Hello guys,
I'm a graphic designer from Brazil and I would like to start making my own Reprap!
But, actually, it's very expensive for me to buy the complete kit. Well, I'm asking if you guys can divide, like, in 5 parts the work I need to complete make it! So I can divide my work like a hobby, doing this in my free time, but I want to buy it step-by-step, in 5 parts.
For example: First the plastic parts (with detailed settings and names), Second, Third....
I hope you can understand my limitations and my wish to start being the first to help Reprap community here in my region, and you guys help me to build my own!
Thank you very much
Waiting for answers.

Diogo Barros
Re: Make my own in 5 steps
July 26, 2011 04:20AM
If cost is the primary constraint, you should maybe go for a repstrap of some sort - it will need more work on your side but can be made mostly out of salvaged or cheap materials.

Maybe start by building the frame, jcabrer's ongoing project seems a candidate for you there.
July 26, 2011 08:16AM
Actually if I divide the work in 5 steps it would not be just confortable for the cost, I don't have many free time so I would spend about 5 months (or more) doing this.
I'm planning also to build a nice "tutorial/guide" to people who have the same problem as me.
July 27, 2011 03:20AM
My recommendation would be this:

Decide which Mendel you want to build - personally I chose PRUSA Mendel because it has less plastic parts - there is the added cost of an extra motor, but even with the added expense of a 5th stepper motor that is about 1/3 less cost when compared to the original Mendel. Then:

1) Buy a set of plastic parts - I bought a set of poured resin parts from riboflavin's thread here and so far they've been pretty good.