Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Custom Delta Position Issue

Posted by Soronemus 
Custom Delta Position Issue
February 08, 2016 12:55PM
Hey Guys,

I am a ME grad student designing/constructing/controlling/analyzing a linear delta robot for my masters thesis. I have got to the final stages of my work, which is the testing. The problem that I am having is that my Z plane does not seem to be perfectly flat. What I mean by that is when I tell my robot to move from one XY position to another XY position (with no change in Z) the end effector changes slightly in the Z plane. I have attached a dial indicator to my end effector and after calibrating the bed, the Z plane seems to be roughly .5mm higher in the very center of my work space (When I move towards the edges of my work space the end effector moves down a total of .5mm).

I suspect that this is because of a small inconsistency in my measured dimensions. I designed the robot in SolidWorks and pulled most of the dimensions from that (verifying them as best I could with a crappy measuring tape afterwards and they looked correct) so I thought that they would be pretty accurate. I was hoping you guys would have suggestions for how I could try to pinpoint the issue. Here are two links to my setup:
[imgur.com]
[imgur.com]