Regards
shoufeng
Re: request a forum for Southampton, UK
December 04, 2010 07:51AM
Forum created. smiling bouncing smiley

We've also got a wiki page for the RUG here:
http://reprap.org/wiki/RUG/UK/Southampton
You'll want to edit it, I imagine.

Also, since everyone with a reprap is probably a developer, I'd be honored if you join us in the reprap-dev mailing list as well,

Let me know if there's anything else you need. And please do up a fun, beautiful, or useful project in the wiki. smileys with beer

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.

Remember, you're all RepRap developers (once you've joined the super-secret developer mailing list), and the wiki, RepRap.org, [reprap.org] is for everyone and everything! grinning smiley
Dear Sebastien

Thank you very much for the forum!

regards
Shoufeng
Re: request a forum for Southampton, UK
March 17, 2011 07:35AM
I am completely new to 3D printing and can't believe I have only just stumbled on the subject.
I am basically a mechanical person with a fair knowledge of electrical wiring but ....not good at electronics and linking via a USB.
It so happens that I am just about finished building a home made 4 axis CNC machine for light model making work.
The only electrical parts so far fitted are the Astrosyn MY103H702 Stepper motors and the N/C travel limit switches. None of the electronics have been started and frankly, I have been psychologically avoiding it because of my ignorance and there seems to be a black hole of information surrounding the subject. I suspect it's all out there but the buzz words and assumption that everyone knows it leaves me blank. I understand and can work from block diagrams and/or schematics.

I have an Aduino mega 1028 board and an AT power supply that I deduced, from what I've read, will be needed somewhere and lots of pointers to software, none seem to be usable on a iMac Snow Leopard.