Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

No Response From Stepper

Posted by Gobleys 
No Response From Stepper
February 04, 2014 05:18PM
Hey guys,

I'm a university student as part of a group project to build a granule extruder 3D printer, but I am completely new to the wonderful worlds of 3D printing, arduinos and electronics.

Right now I'm developing the electronics for our project, but my problem is that I just can't get the NEMA 17 bipolar stepper motor to rotate/hum/anything. We are prototyping our granule extruder soon and for this we will only require the motion of a single motor to turn the extrusion screw. So what I've been trying to do is simply get this motor running!

The set up

I have an Arduino Mega 2560 hooked up to a RAMPS 1.4 board. I have installed a single Pololu A4988 stepper driver upon the RAMPS board as shown:

I have a 12VDC power supply as shown, which I found from a scrap inventory area in my department. I have tested it with a multimeter and it reads 12.24V and all is believed to be in working order:

I have attached the 2.1mm DC connector to the Arduino below. I'm a little worried that this power supply, although it seems to be sufficient for the one required motor, isn't all that I need. I've seen many setups that use the 11A and 5A power connections on the RAMPS board, so my first question is is this power supply sufficient for my needs or have I overlooked something?:

Moving on, I have attached the motor as follows. The second following picture shows the order of the wires that I am using if you cannot see clearly in the first following picture. I presume this is correctly done:

Comments