Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Keeping extruder fan on.

Posted by Wpflum 
Keeping extruder fan on.
October 12, 2014 06:43PM
Is there any way either through a setting I'm missing or something in code for a marlin setup that I can change to get the fan on D9, I'm using it as the extruder fan for a direct drive extruder, to stay on as long as the extruder is above a specific temperature? Right now after a print is finished and the printer parks and everything gets turned off including the fan but the extruder is still very hot. I've been manually turning the fan back on at the end of a print but longer prints would not have me around to do this.

I'm new to 3d printing and really new to Marlin so if I'm missing an obvious solution just beat me over the head with it until it sinks in. confused smiley
Re: Keeping extruder fan on.
October 13, 2014 03:14AM
How about custom ending gcode? Keep the fan running for x number of seconds after turning the extruder heater off?
October 13, 2014 05:03AM
I would try a hardware approach

use something like [www.aliexpress.com] near the hot end, and don't tell it to turn off in software. Not sure it would survive being right on the hot end, but it doesn’t need to be right on it, just close enough. Of course it also means that fan on isn’t instant, unless over the temp threshold

This is whats in those 12v power supplies to turn the fan on and off as needed
October 13, 2014 09:28AM
That would be acceptable, how do I do it? I'm using Cura so does that mean I can add something to the default profile that will add this to any opbject I run through it?

I usually see the temp drop off about a minute or so with the fan on after the extruder is turned off so for the sake of overkill having the fan on 2 minutes after the end of the print should be fine.