Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Major stepper motor trouble with ramps.

Posted by coop402 
Major stepper motor trouble with ramps.
July 26, 2016 05:24PM
I am having nothing but trouble configuring stepper motors!

I have built a nice p3steel with a e3d v6 hotend. This is my first project of this type, but I have quite a bit of experience with buiding, debugging, hardware, software, etc. I build stereo tube amps and I am a Linux programmer for a Fortune 500. Not my first rodeo. lol

I have an overkill dell power pack capable of 18 amps at 12 volts. I have isolated by hot bed with another once of these power supplies and an electronic relay. I have both the 5 and 11 amp ramps power hooked up.

I have bought a few kinds of stepper motors, my latest exploit is the AMX 3d.
It is a 2amp 84oz hold with a nice cable. [www.amazon.com]
Btw the cable is wired wrong, so I found my coils with both the ohm meter method and the led method. They are correct.

1/32 stepping is too much for the Marlin firmware I am using. A current version downloaded a week ago.
I set my step to 1/16th. Just testing the Y axis belted using the following:

200 steps per revolution 1/16 so 3200
2 mm belt pitch
16 tooth belt

I come up with the following:
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {100,100,60,60}

Don't worry about the other numbers, just Y.

I am using repetier host, I have the jumpers set to MS3 jumped others open for step, s/b 1/16th step.

I am using the DRV8825 drivers because of the more powerful stepper motors. (btw i used a smaller motor with the same results, fyi)
I set the vref to 1.1 v for roughly 2 amps. Tried other settings.

What I am seeing is that the motor can move sometimes, mostly in the right direction. But really erratic. jumps jerks whistles whines.
I can get it to behave for a bit changing steprate in repetier host. Setting is marlin.

I have replace my ramps board with 2 other version, both Chinese. Identical results.