Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

cant write to printer after crashing the y-axis without the endstop in place

Posted by bdelf85 
cant write to printer after crashing the y-axis without the endstop in place
March 13, 2014 10:56PM
im a complete noob and after getting all 3 axis' to run smooth i got a little too excited and tryed a dry print just to see if it was working correctly. i made the mistake of not installing the endstops, thinking i could just manually hit the switch when it homed and i must have hit the max switch instead of the min and the motor binded. could this damage the comms on the arduino? i reinstalled the firmware and the driver on the mega. i keep getting this: [ERROR] Can't write to printer (disconnected?) (SerialException): Write timeout
Re: cant write to printer after crashing the y-axis without the endstop in place
March 14, 2014 07:09AM
Check your USB cable and that you are using the correct com port

March 14, 2014 11:53AM
I've unplugged and replugged the usb multiple times and im using comm 8 as its the only option the arduino ide and pronterface are giving me. I'll try using a different cable when I get home from work.
Re: cant write to printer after crashing the y-axis without the endstop in place
March 14, 2014 02:29PM
so i tryed two other usb cables and checked them with an ohmmeter and they're all good. i've try marlin and sprinter . my computer reads that the arduino mega 2560 is on com8 under the devices and printers and is working properly, also drivers up to date. some times i have to unplug and re-plug the usb to get the arduino ide v 1.0.5-r2 to be able to connect to the serial port. . i've tryed mulitple usb ports on my computer and tryed wiggling the port on the arduino. also have tryed different baud rates. i just keep getting errors or it will just keep trying to connect. Connecting...
Connecting...
[ERROR] Could not connect to COM8 at baudrate 115200: