Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Corner Of Print Has Rounding-off Issue

Posted by mattthegamer463 
Corner Of Print Has Rounding-off Issue
December 18, 2014 11:07PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to reprap and just got my machine on monday, a Prusa i3 from Sunhokey.com. All acrylic frame, bowden extruder.

I got it working well printing squares and solid blocks without problems, after some tuning. Interestingly, I don't actually know the nozzle diameter! Their instructions are lacking in clarity and seem to claim to be a 0.3mm nozzle and thats what I've been using. If thats not what it is, I must have compensated with other settings because there aren't any gaps on solid infill. Extruding into open air (possibly too quickly, causing swelling?) and measuring the strand that comes out measures to be 0.48mm or so. I neglected to measure before I filled the nozzle with filament so I'm going to have to try heating the nozzle and sticking a digital caliper in there to measure it.

Anyway my prints were going okay so I tried a 10mm x 10mm x 50mm tower, with 25% honeycomb fill. I'm running repetier host and slic3r, tip 205C and 60C heated bed on kapton, 0.2mm layers. After about halfway through the tower, the back right corner started rounding off and getting worse and worse as it went. See the attached image. The tower finished but it developed some bad defects on the right and rear sides. I can see the nozzle pass over the open space and attempt to squirt filament into midair, only to wipe it off on the back side edge of the perimeter.

I thought maybe the fan was blowing on it and causing it to screw up, so I dropped the fan from 100% to 50% and the problem got way worse. The short tower was the same print but I cancelled it since it was clearly going very poorly.