Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Print bed material sticking

Posted by dantyas 
Print bed material sticking
December 13, 2015 03:50PM
Hello all,

This is my first post so bare with me...

I have built my first printer I have printed a few models but I am having the same problem. The model sticking fast to the print bed.

The heated print bed is aluminium, however I was advised to use yellow decorators tape on the bed to aid adhesion, using the tape does stop such problems as curling, however its very difficult to then remove the model from the bed.

So I ask the community what should i do? should I add another material to the bed when printing?

Also how did you guys level your print bed and calibrate you print head I am new to all this and any advise would be very welcome !!!

Thank you

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 12/13/2015 03:59PM by dantyas.
Attachments:
open | download - 20151208_230320.jpg (543.5 KB)
Re: Print bed material sticking
December 13, 2015 05:31PM
Temperature, correctly adjusted first layer height, speed and the tape itself affects how the plastic will or won't stick.
You did not mention what material you use but give clear craft glue a chance.
Use the stuff that uses methanol or ethanol as a solvent, not the ones for kids that are water based and washable.
Clean the bed and apply a thin layer of glue using a spatula, knife or ruler.
Wait until the layer is dry and appliy another one 90° to the first - again let fully dry, should only take 5 minutes anyway.
Print with low speeds for the first layer and all should stick.
The glue can be ruese several times and actually increases in bonding strenght.
If you need to apply a new layer of fix damages use alcohol and make up pads to clean or smooth the bad areas, apply a new coat of glue where required.
December 14, 2015 11:26AM
Thank you for taking the time to respond its appreciated. My apologies for not mentioning the material I'm currently using PLA