Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bridge issue - maybe a Skeinforge issue?

Posted by bbence 
Bridge issue - maybe a Skeinforge issue?
August 23, 2013 04:05PM
I have an issue with printing the following test object: [www.thingiverse.com]
When I observe the printing process, the bridges (even the longest) start to print almost perfect, the perimeters don't fall down / sag. However the problem starts when the printer starts with the infill / solid layer. Here it does a zig-zag pattern. See . No good comes out of this and this part of the extrusion basically just falls down. But subsequent layers where the bridges are realized using straight lines, things look nice. But this first 'layer' of the bridge is not working at all. See and .

So it seems that the printer is very much capable of this kind of bridges, but the slicer (Skeinforge) ruins it. Unfortunately I'm not really an expert of the different settings of Skeinforge to find out how I can influnce this, so I mostly use Print-O-Matic in ReplicatorG with some overrides. I attach the gcode (I used gcode.ws to visualize what happens exactly).
Some parameters:
0.27mm layer height
0.4mm nozzle
1.82mm diameter
235C blue ABS
Feedrate 80 mm/sec, Travel feedrate: 150mm/sec
Number of extra shells: 0 (based on the description from the thingiverse thing)
Infill: 2% (I also tried 5%, also tried to change the inflill pattern)

Any idea what I can do to successfully print these bridges? Somehow it seems that the first layer / infill pattern doesn't consider the fact that it's actually printing mid air over a bridge?
Attachments:
open | download - ultimate_calibration_test.zip (100.3 KB)
Re: Bridge issue - maybe a Skeinforge issue?
August 23, 2013 10:18PM