Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PSU unexpected turning off

Posted by Enobrega 
PSU unexpected turning off
July 02, 2012 06:39AM
Hi Repetier,
I am new in reprap eletronics and I just finished my Mendel Max printer with GEN 7 V 1.3.1 eletronics few days ago.
I used tomtry Teacup with Pronterface but got some connction problems so I moved to Repetier firmeware and host.
So, first, congratulations for the hard and good workmdone! There is some amazing features in your solution which makes Our life easier!
i have no communication problem but, for some reason, during the printer job the PSU suddenly turn off and the printer stop.
The communication keep still flowing and the host keep sending the g-codes but the printer is turned off!
To turn it again is just a matter of hit the disconnect buttom and hit the connect it again, them it cames to life again!
I am using an ATX 500 w power supply.
Running on dry run method, the problem dissapear!
i have tried differente option for speed and stepper driver current ( on the board potentiometer) but the problem still persister, even with the stteper board very cold ( seems there is no overcurret on the stteper!)
I am not sure if I have some configuration prpblem or if it is and hardware problem.
i will appreciate any help on that.
Thanks
Re: PSU unexpected turning off
July 02, 2012 11:08AM
Hi Enobrega,

Check the resistance across the hot end resistor wires, and make sure you have 5 or 6 Ohms there. If it is lower than 5, then I would suspect a short.

PC Power Supplies introduce a bit of uncertainty into the mix. There are various claims about unstable voltages on the 5 volt rail, etc., but no real solid results. I've been lucky in the past, and my PC PSUs have all worked just fine by grounding the green wire.