Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mendel90 PSU Help - USA

Posted by 5teakhouse 
Mendel90 PSU Help - USA
March 15, 2014 01:33PM
Hello fellow Printers,

I'm going to qualify this by saying that this is my first build, first foray into electronics, and first time with a soldering iron winking smiley. So far, I've managed to use what I've picked up over the years, what I remember from shop class, and what I've searched up on the internet to get pretty darn far into this build. However, I'm at an impasse with the power supply. Being that it was my first build, I ordered Nophead's Mendel90 kit (superb quality, by the way!), but being from the US, it did not ship with a power supply. I knew going in that I would have to make some adjustments, and that is where you all come in. Please help me figure out how to convert this power supply for use with this printer.

Okay, so here we go:

There are (on the 24-pin):

5 orange wires
5 red wires
8 black
2 yellow
1 blue
1 green
1 gray
1 purple

8 additional black wires on the CPU power pin

And pictures (for clarity)

Pictures

Thank you in advance!!!
Re: Mendel90 PSU Help - USA
March 15, 2014 02:01PM
I detailed some of my PSU modifications in this blog sometime ago: Blog Post
March 15, 2014 02:05PM
Here is a detailed write up :
[reprap.org]
March 15, 2014 03:23PM
Wozzy and Ralph, thank you for your quick responses. Lots of great information (additionally lots of stuff that went right over my head sad smiley )

My apologies... but....

So knowing nothing about how electricity works... I'm still a little lost. While I'm less lost than before, I feel more likely to start a fire with the knowledge that I've gained (the truth is, this was a project for me to do with my younger brother and he.... "oversold" his qualifications).

Can someone walk me through it a little more, ya'know dumb it down a bit?
March 15, 2014 04:25PM