Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

blobs. why delay after retract/restart

Posted by wdehaene 
blobs. why delay after retract/restart
January 08, 2015 04:50AM
Dear all

I am a newbie here. I built an ormerod 2 during the christmas recess. I am quite happy with its performance but I have an issue with blobs.
Each time the printer has to move to a new location or a new layer a retract/restart happens. That is fine of course. But after retract and then the restart (the G1 commands with only E) the printer waits a few seconds before it does the next command. This gives very ugly bobs on my printed structures. I am not shure whether the it is the 'retract' or 'restart' move of the filament that gives the blob. I should make as test structure for that. However i am sure that it is due to the retract/restart. If I disable retraction completely the blobs are gone but I get of course onwanted little threads between the position. Can somebody tell me why the printer is delaying after each retract/restart (two delays. it delays after each G1 Ex) command. I don't find a setting to kill it. It is also annoying because it considerably slows down the printing.
I use the firmware from the official reprap repository. (RepRapFirmware-078c-18-09-2014. That was on my duet when it came and is what the site says is most recent?)

kind regards,

wim
Re: blobs. why delay after retract/restart
January 08, 2015 08:03AM
Hi wim, welcome to the forum!

I don't see any delay after retract/restart. Are you printing from SD card, or over USB or the web? If you print directly over USB or over the web, sometimes the data rate can't keep up with the printer. So it's best to print from SD card.