Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Which to buy

Posted by MetalBasher 
Which to buy
July 15, 2015 08:56AM
I'm a newbie at 3D printing trying to choose between RRP's Ormerod and Mendel. Advice appreciated.
Ormerod is easier build (say RRP and looking at the instructions, I agree).
Mendel looks mechanically more rigid and axes better guided but can anyone confirm this (rich person who owns both...).
Build volume looks ok on either as I want to print small fittings for use with close-up photograph setups, as well as learning about 3D FF printing.
TIA
Bob
Re: Which to buy
July 23, 2015 05:27PM
Hi Bob, welcome. Out of the two I personally would suggest the Ormerod.
DC42 (one of the leading developers here) has been hard at work developing the Firmware (the software that runs the machine), and it really has improved the usefulness of the Ormerod by leaps and bounds.

I do allot of 3D printing work, and have basically worn my Ormerod out. It's had a real hammering, and needs some much needed TLC now.
So before taking it off line completely for overhaul (some of the components have briken due to the basing about the machine gets), I decided to try a Prusa 3i (similar to the Mendel.

After build the Prusa, I found that allot of the time I still preferred the Ormerod. Ok, some of that was familiarity with the trusted beast.
Ok it's not perfect, but with an Alley Bed for the table, DC42s firmware, and some of the other bits we've designed and developed as a community, it's become a Leading light.

I prefer the bridged design of the Prusa, as opposed to the Cantilever desgn of the X axis, but that's a matter of choice.
I'm in the process of replacing some of the broken components on my Ormerod, but it's still producing passable prints for me, and I have even made some of the replacement parts on the machine.

Personally I'd pick the Ormerod as a starting point.... Just order one of the Ally Bed at the same time, as the MDF beds the Ormerod came with were rubbish.