Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Duet and Arduino Ramps controller

Posted by Posete 
Duet and Arduino Ramps controller
August 19, 2015 04:28PM
Hi there, I am a newbie and I am collecting all the parts for building an Ormerod. The question is this: Is it possible to use an Arduino Ramps instead of a Duet controller for the Ormerod 3D printer?

Thanks!
Re: Duet and Arduino Ramps controller
August 19, 2015 08:33PM
Yes, it would be possible.

Any controller that can interpret G-code, control 3 open loop cartesian axis stepper motors +1 extruder, regulate temperatures etc could do the job.

RepRapPro Mendel 3 Tricolour
RepRapPro Fisher
-Carbon Arms
-Easy adjust Carriage+effector
-axis stiffness mods
HE3D -600 delta
-Duet 0.8.5
-PanelDue
-DC42 Height probe
-RobotDigg metal components
Simplyfy3D
RS Design Spark CAD
August 20, 2015 12:56PM
Thanks!
August 20, 2015 04:01PM
Posete
Hi there, I am a newbie and I am collecting all the parts for building an Ormerod. The question is this: Is it possible to use an Arduino Ramps instead of a Duet controller for the Ormerod 3D printer?

Thanks!

If you need to ask that, then you may have a bit of a struggle getting Arduiino/RAMPS to work to your satisfaction. In particular, make sure you know how to calculate and set the reference voltages to get the right stepper motor currents, and how to configure Marlin or Repetier firmware. Arduino/RAMPS is a very poor solution compared to Duet and other more modern controllers.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
August 21, 2015 02:12AM
dc42
Arduino/RAMPS is a very poor solution compared to Duet and other more modern controllers.

And it is not cheaper. You can get a Duet board for the same price.

Slicer: Simplify3D 4.0; sometimes CraftWare 1.14 or Cura 2.7